Month: December 2006

  • I must be getting old as I have started sending Christmas cards this year, to friends whom I have not contacted for some time. On second thought, that should be changed to friends who are older than me. I learnt that it is not a good idea to attempt to finish all the cards (twenty of them) in one night, especially when I write quite a few words on each card. Speaking of that, Christmas cards do not exactly afford me much space to write on. After valiantly squeezing in everything on the first card, I decided that I had to omit some parts for the rest, especially when the cards are of different sizes. The smaller ones probably had a word limit of two hundred words. The Christmas cards were not exactly cheap and some of them looked in terrible condition. Did I buy them too late? Also, I should have noted that Christmas this year fell on a Monday, which meant that I had one day less to send out the cards. As it is, I think I did send them out one day too late, which means that they will only arrive one day after Christmas. Here is what I originally planned to write on one of the cards, as it turned out, I had to shorten it further when I penned the cards.

    This is a Christmas card masquerading as a gesture of friendship. I do not go to church, so the significance of Christmas is lost on me. I do not buy into the eason to be jolly?tagline that the media feeds us year after year, since I believe in being jolly everyday.

    Anyway, I thought I would start writing to people whom I consider my friends once a year. It was an absolute privilege to have worked with such a harmonious bunch of people. I still look back fondly at my few months working at UOB Hougang North. If we could be colleagues again after I graduate, it would be a job that I will give serious thought to.

    I should keep this short, it will be quite troublesome to write out all this four times, I am tempted to either print this out and paste it onto the card, or just photocopy the card, haha.

    Wishing you people all the best for 2007 and hopefully I will see you people soon, like Philip housewarming gathering.

  • Stupid question heard in class, courtesy of collegehumor.com

    University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
    Submitted by Eric

    In biology, the professor is discussing grooves on the stomach called rugae and their effect on the stomach growling
    Professor:  These rugae are found on other organs as well, including the vagina.
    Brahptimus Prime:  So vaginas can growl, too?

  • After more than two years of living alone, I will be moving house again before Chinese New Year. I think the company will be a welcome change but yet I will at times miss the privacy and solitude that living alone affords me.

  • Of the Premiership’s top ten all-time top scorers, three – Alan Shearer, Les Ferdinand and Ian Wright – have retired. A fourth, Dwight Yorke, is in the Championship. Robbie Fowler, Teddy Sheringham, Jimmy-Floyd Hasselbaink and Andy Cole are in the twilight of their career. Thierry Henry is in a slump, Michael Owen a crock.